Breathtaking Beauty of Lake Juniko, Fukaura-Town

Some people who visited this blog asked me if the current header image was taken in Aomori-prefecture.  The answer is “YES”, and I am excited to share the beautiful images of Lake Juniko with you this time!

Juniko is literally 12 lakes, collective term of 33 small and large ponds created by the big earthquake about 300 years ago.

If you want to tour all 33 ponds, it will take all day long and you would need a car.  However, visiting major ponds and forest area along the hiking trail will take just about 1 hour.  The following are pics I took in 1-hour-tour. 

My starting point was “Kyororo”, a gift shop near the major ponds. 

 This is the map of Juniko, and my 1-hour-tour course is marked bold on the upper right side.

 

Walking in the forest of Katsura, beech and oak is so refreshing. You hear nothing but your footsteps and birds chirping…..

     

This is “Aoike” pond, known with its mystic crystal blue.The color of Aoike pond easily change by the weather and season.  When I viewed this pond, the sunlight brightened the pond and the color was like opals.

This transparent blue pond shows us all things under the water. I could see some small fish swimming in there.

The air was clean and the fresh woody smell was relaxing.  I heard there were some uncommon birds like Ruddy Kingfisher you might be able to see, so I tried to find them carefully but couldn’t find any this time.  The women walking several footsteps behind the group is me, because I wanted to enjoy strolling slowly.

Here is my another favorite pond, “Wakitsubo” – the header image of this blog!

I didn’t edit the images, not even a bit.  These are what I simply took with my compact digital camera.  It was amazingly beautiful. I remembered about the tale of swan maiden, and thought fairies would choose this place for bathing.

After going down the long stairs, you will find a small rest area. This place serves you a Japanese small sweet  and Matcha green tea made of  “Wakitsubo” spring water. I loved it!

The lady who makes tea for you wouldn’t give you a bill.  There is a box inside of the building and you put money in it.  The money will be used to keep the spring water clean and pure, and you can decide how much you want to offer.

Recently I’ve been very busy and was worn out, but Lake Juniko definitely helped me to recharge my batteries.  Currently there is not much information about Lake Juniko in English, but if you are a nature lover,  it’s worth visiting Lake Juniko!

Lake Juniko

Closest Station: JR Juniko (Resort Shirakami train should be the best to visit)

By Car: Approx. 3 hours from Aomori-City 

Pay Parking Available

11 Responses to “Breathtaking Beauty of Lake Juniko, Fukaura-Town”

  1. Absolutley gorgeous!!

  2. Thank you Lisa-san. If you’ve never been to Lake Juniko, please plan to visit there on a sunny day when you come to Aomori next time!

  3. You’ve sold me! I definitely want to check Juniko out!!

  4. Thank you MT-san :). Please make sure to visit there on a sunny day.
    I hope you really can make it!

  5. How hot do you think it is around now? Your photos are beautiful.

  6. Gina-san,
    Thank you! Temparature around Aomori is 30 degrees Celsius. It is raining in Aomori-city right now.

  7. Lovely pictures. My wife and I are coming to Aomori prefecture for a tour starting mid-October. Hope to see plenty of autumn colour. Lake Juniko is in our plan too. Someone recommended walking up the Mt. Futatsumori. Is it difficult?

  8. Thank you Ken-san, and welcome to Aomori! If you two are trekking lovers, I’d like to recommend Hakkoda mountains in the first place to appreciate the autumn foliage. My all-time favorite is Lake Juniko. And about Mt. Futatsumori, you can climb up the mountain only from the trailhead in Akita Prefecture. Actually I’ve never been there, and am planning to visit there on th 19th of this month with my colleagues.
    People tell me that reaching the summit of the Mt. Futatsumori won’t take that long(approx. 1 hour), but is hilly and you sometimes go into the bamboo bushes. So you have to be well prepared (at least shoes and jackets). Please enjoy your trip!

  9. Hi Yuko,

    I’m so glad to have stumbled on this website! Would you be able to recommend any accomodations near Juniko Lakes that provides free parking? I will be in Aomori in June!

  10. Sue-san, thank you for visiting our blog. As for the accomodations, AWONE Shirakami Juniko could meet your request.

    http://web.travel.rakuten.co.jp/portal/my/info_page_e.Eng?f_no=41822

    Paid parking is 500 yen/day near Lake Juniko, or local bus available to get to Lake Juniko from AWONE.

    http://konanbus.com/juniko/juniko.html

    Please enjoy your trip in Aomori in June. If you are coming to Aomori-City near JR Aomori station, please stop by Aspam(triangular building).
    I would be working there on weekdays and tourist information can give you tourist guide map and pamphlets in English/Chinese.

  11. I am wondering if Refresh Village camp ground is open. Someone told me only cabins are available for rent, but we cannot bring out own tents. Do you know any information about that? We would like to go check it out over the 4th of July weekend.

Comments are closed.

