Cherishing Cherry Blossoms at Night

In recent years, cherry blossoms in full bloom in Aomori haven’t met  the consecutive national holidays called “Golden Week”.  But this year they did and helped many visitors to enjoy viewing beautiful cherry blossoms in Hirosaki Park, and drew about 430,000 people in a day, on May 3.

Please enjoy the excuisite photos of Hirosaki cherry blossoms taken by Zack in the daytime which you can see in his previous post.  Cherry blossoms are always beautiful against a blue sky, but my all-time favorite cherry blossom viewing in Hirosaki is at night, with light-up.

I believe this captivating atmosphere is only in Hirosaki Park.   My pictures are never the best to tell its amazingness, but I wanted to share some pictures with you.

I always get totally intoxicated with the atmosphere, which is never the same without these cherry blossoms.  I don’t know why, but everytime I visit Hirosaki Park, I feel cherry blossoms in the area of Honmaru – Hirosaki Castle are particularly enchanting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

During this season both joy and sadness cross my mind – cherry blossoms are the messenger which tells us the end of  long and severe winter. They are vibrant but too ephemeral pleasure  like a short dream.  That’s why Hirosaki cherry blossoms are special and very precious to local people, and that’s why we want you to come and experience this ephemeral beauty at night by yourselves.   

Hirosaki Cherry Blossom Festival

Hirosaki Park – approx 25 minutes walk from JR Hirosaki Station (taxi, buses are also available)

April 23 – May5 

Light-up;  from sunset to 11:00pm (this year the light-up and the open-air stall inside the park are postponed until May 9)

Comments are closed.

