A BELLYFUL of Seafood Experience in Asamushi, Aomori

 

My friend visited me from Sendai last weekend, and I decided to take her to Asamushi to try out a very famous restaurant. 

Asamushi is a hot spring resort area facing Mutsu-bay, and people enjoy fishing, sunbathing and soaking in the hot spring with a panoramic view of the ocean.

Asamushi is a hot spring resort area 30 minutes from central Aomori.

Asamushi is a hot spring resort area 30 minutes from central Aomori.

 

You can find a yellow signboard of Tsurukame-ya restaurant along the Route 4.  “Tsuru-kame” is Japanese for crane and turtle, which symbolize longevity and prosperity.

Signboard of the restaurant

Signboard of the restaurant

 When we arrived there,  all tables were full.  Luckily the earlier visitors started to check right after they saw us coming in, and we did not have to wait at all.  Thanks!  
 
Lunchtime Crowd

Lunchtime Crowd

 
 
I ordered a small half and half (prawn and tuna) seafood bowl.  After 10 minutes a waitress served my dish and I was…..astonished!!
 
 
 
Small (supposed to be) rice bowl topped with prawn and tuna

Small (supposed to be) rice bowl topped with prawn and tuna

  I actually doubted the waitress that she mistook my order as regular bowl, but she told me this was a small bowl…..
20 pcs prawn, 10 thick slices of  tuna and “nakaochi” part (middle-fatty tuna flesh adhere to the bones) are piling up on the rice…oh no.
Small rice bowl topped with sea urchin

Small rice bowl topped with sea urchin

My friend ordered a small sea urchin bowl.   Wow… I have never eaten sea urchin this much at a time in my life.  My friend ate them up.
 
After eating 5 slices of tuna and 8 prawns,  I just couldn’t eat any more.  Gazing blankly at the summit of  Mt. Sashimi,  a phrase crossed my mind.  “I climb Everest because it is there.”     Sorry Mr. George Mallory,  I don’t think I can demolish this world’s highest Sashimi moutain just because it is here….
 
While struggling with this overwhelming “small” seafood bowl, I felt this was like a LONELY food contest.  (no opponents,  no onlookers,  no praise or prize for your achievement!!)  
 
My friend was enjoying the lunch

My friend was enjoying the lunch with her family.

 
Then I happened to see my friend and her family.  I could take the pictures of dishes they ordered.
A small rice bowl topped with prawns

A small rice bowl topped with prawns

Tempura of veggie, squid and fish

Tempura of veggie, squid and fish

A small rice bowl topped with conger eel Tenpura

A small rice bowl topped with conger eel Tempura

 If you are willing to eat in moderation, this restaurant is not for you (needless to say).
The greatest thing about this restaurant is the price. I should say the prices are inexpensive for these extra-large helpings of raw seafood.
Handwriting menu of today's special

Handwriting menu of today's special

 I was wondering what would be the most expensive dish in this restaurant today, and it was “a regular triple bowl”.  I found a young couple ordering it!!
a young couple taking a picture of the most expensive bowl respectively.

A young couple taking a picture of their most expensive bowl respectively.

I asked them to allow me to take the picture of their bowl.  They said they would share this bowl(clever way).  Since I left after taking this picture, I do not know if they could make it to eat up…
 
"Tri-Color Bowl"is regular rice bowl topped with tuna, prawn and sea urchin

"Tri-Color Bowl"is a regular rice bowl topped with tuna, prawn and sea urchin(3,000 yen)

   
 After the bellyful of seafood bowl,  we stopped at the popular outside foot bath which is located right in front of the JR Asamushi station.
Free Hotspring Foot Bath

Free Hotspring Foot Bath beside the Asamushi Sta.

 If you bring a small towel, that’s perfect.  Just take off your socks and soak your feet in the warm (sometimes hot!) water.  Everyone looks comfortable sitting here.
Warming your feet with hot spring while feeling gentle breeze on your face....very soothing.

Warming your feet in the hot spring while feeling gentle breeze on your face.... very soothing.

 
 Asamushi is a very peaceful place and the holiday atmosphere can  relieve my tension.
If you ever go to Tsurukame-ya restaurant,  please be sure to order small bowls, and let me know if you could eat them up!!
An Wooden Object

An Wooden Object

Tsurukame-ya Restaurant
293-14, Hotarudani, Asamushi Aomori-shi 
8:00am – 8:00 pm
Open all year round 
Free parking available 
 5 min walk from JR Asamushi sta.
 
 
3 Responses to “A BELLYFUL of Seafood Experience in Asamushi, Aomori”

  1. Saara Ekström Says:

    Wow, deary me!
    I am completely struck numb with jealousy of your fantastic goodies. And the sizes of these portions are like Fuji-san! Bon appetite, darling Yuko.
    XOX Saara

  2. Hi!This is Jeanette from Singapore. I plan to make a trip down to this restaurant onmy trip to Aomori, is it still around??

    Thanks!!

  3. Dear jeanette,
    I’m sorry for the late reply. Yes this restaurant is still open.
    If you are JR Pass holder, Tsurukame-ya restaurant is about 5 minutes walk from JR Asamushi Station. When you get out of the station, turn right and go straight. Hope you can make it!

Comments are closed.

